Beaujolais UNESCO Global Geopark
Très Beaujolais

Moorland and dry grasslands

  • Beaujolais' moorland

Moorland and dry grassland can be found in the central part of the territory. Here, solar irradiance is strong, the substrate poor and the water rare, which limits the implantation of forest species. Occupied by a specific fauna, the actors of this territory are joining to maintain this environment, while encouraging the installation and the development of adapted agricultural production.

Moorland are dominated by differents brooms and the Eurasian eagle-owl is present. On the limestone hillsides, the dry grasslands shelter different varieties of orchids, the hoopoe, the red-backed shrike and an uncommon butterfly: the Piedmont ringlet.

The Saône Valley

  • "Lônes" of the Saône Valley

The Saône Valley ("Val de Saône" in french) is one of the most emblematicand fragile areas of the territory due to its multiple uses. The Saône Valley's landscapes have conserved their original aspect as lowland forest which develops naturally along river banks. The shallow depth and the quality of the water give this place a role as a shelter and a breeding site for fish.

During flooding, the waters of the River Saône spread over the water meadows : this phenomenon leads to the creation of new environments, which are conducive to the development of a particular ecosystem, whose emblematic flower is the Fritillary and the main animals are the birds. We can see the Eurasian curlew and the Stone-curlew.

Forest and mountain environments

  • Beaujolais' mountains

The forest covers 33.5 % of the total surface of the applicant's territory, with a prevalence of coniferous species. Wood production, ecological management, landscape conservation and as a leisure destination for the general public are amongst the many activities that we have to reconcile to preserve the forest ecosystem.

Under this forest cap thrives a complex biodiversity. The blocks of old trees provide precious shelter for birds and bats who make the most of all the holes, when on the ground dead wood enables mushrooms and insects to develop. The environment's acid soils are appreciated by species such as the bracken fern or the foxglove. The High Beaujolais also welcomes the aconit tue-loup, the martagon lys and the sureau orchids. Today, around 8000 deer and 800 boar have been counted in the Beaujolais.

The open environment and vineyards

  • Beaujolais' vineyards

The small valleys and the plains of the Beaujolais are suitable for agricultural production. In the hillsides, cattle and sheep farming dominates and focuses on meat, milk and cheese production.Wine growing is most prevalent to the east of the region. On the eastern plains and hillsides of the mountains, vineyards thrive between the many affluents of the Saône. Implanted by monks and bishops during the Xth century, they are the result of a rich ancestral legacy, in which specific practices and craftsmanship are passed on from generation to generation.

The Beaujolais wines are the product of a single grape variety, called "le Gamay" and most of the vineyard are installed on a severals soils : Carboniferous granite (330 - 290 Mya), Devonian diorite and schist (430 - 360 Mya), fluvio-glacial clay rich sands of the Pleistocene (< 3 Mya), etc.

Rivers and wetlands

  • Beaujolais' river

The wetlands and aquatic environments can be found throughout the entire territory, mostly at the heads of the catchment areas, as waterpoints and permanent streams, wet meadows, peatbogs, gravel pits, reed beds, river-bank woodlands, etc. Today, considering the stakes they represent, they are gradually being recognized and preserved. Indeed, they have a part in managing the water supplies and are useful to many species, for their reproduction and foodsupply.

During the inventory conducted in 2012, at least 1300 wetlands were identified in the Beaujolais ! According to another study conducted in 2014, one out of five area of wetland is under threat, thus the necessity to act in order to preserve them.

Mines and quarries

  • Glay quarries

The extraction of the Beaujolais underground ressources began long ago : the Romans extracted lead from it. For centuries, mines and quarries sprung up all over the territory, so much so that each village and sometimes even each hamlet, still bear the marks of spaces dedicated to extraction long ago. Today, this extraction is nearly over, the interest is mostly environmental.

Birds such as the Eurasian eagle-owl, enjoy the quarries' rock walls in which they build their nests. In Beaujolais, underground quarries and mines welcome almost half of the cave bats species in Europe.

Geopark Beaujolais

Famous throughout the world for its wines and vineyards, the Beaujolais is also a region shaped by man, who has reaped the benefits of the soil's diversity. Its past is literally written in stone: in the golden, red, white, grey or black rocks and stones that have visibly been put to good use in local construction. This remarkable geology has given rise to great diversity, not only in the landscapes and heritage, but also in terms of human activity, in the culture and traditions that form the identity of the Beaujolais region.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais

Démarche de candidature Geopark Beaujolais
Très Beaujolais

Les landes et pelouses sèches

  • Landes du Beaujolais

Les landes et les pelouses sèches sont présentes dans la partie centrale du territoire. L'éclairement solaire est intense, le substrat pauvre, et l'eau rare, ce qui limite l'implantation d'espèces forestières. Occupés par une faune et une flore spécifiques, les acteurs du territoire se mobilisent pour préserver ces milieux, tout en encourageant l'installation ou le développement d'exploitations agricoles adaptées.

Les landes sont dominées par différents types de Genêts (à balais, pileux, et sagitté) et elles accueillent un grand nombre d'espèces ornithologiques dont le Hibou grand-duc. Les coteaux calcaires abritent plusieurs espèces d'orchidées, ainsi que le Moiré des fétuques (papillon peu fréquent), la Huppe fasciée et la Pie grièche écorcheur.

Le Val de Saône

  • Lônes du Val de Saône

Le Val de Saône constitue l'un des secteurs les plus emblématiques et les plus fragiles du territoire en raison de la multiplicité de ses usages. Si les paysages du Val de Saône ont conservé le caractère originel de la forêt alluviale qui se développe naturellement en bordure de cours d'eau, la faible profondeur et la qualité des eaux confèrent à cet espace un rôle important d'abri pour la flore et la faune.

Lors des crues, la Saône va s'étendre sur une surface que l'on appelle prairies inondables : ce phénomène permet la création de nouveaux milieux, propices au développement d'un écosystème spécifique. La fleur emblématique en est la Fritillaire pintade et la faune est dominée par les oiseaux; on peut mentionner le Courlis cendré ainsi que l'Œdicnème criard.

Les milieux forestiers et montagnards

  • Monts du Beaujolais

Les espaces boisés recouvrent 33,5 % de la surface totale du territoire, avec une prédominance des essences de résineux. La production de bois, la gestion écologique, le maintien des paysages et l'accueil de visiteurs représentent les multiples vocations de la forêt qu'il convient de concilier afin de préserver les équilibres forestiers.

Sous ce chapeau forestier grouille une vie des plus complexes. Outre les 8000 chevreuils et les 800 sangliers, les oiseaux et chauves-souris profitent des moindres cavités des îlots de vieux arbres, alors qu'au sol le bois mort favorise le développement des champignons et des insectes. Les sols acides de ce milieu sont appréciés par de nombreuses espèces floristiques comme la Fougère aigle, l'Aconit tue loup ou encore l'Orchis sureau.

Les milieux ouverts et le vignoble

  • Vignes du Beaujolais

Dans les monts, c'est l'élevage de bovins et de caprins qui domine, tourné vers la production de viande, de lait et de fromage. Plus à l'est, la culture de la vigne devient omniprésente. Sur les plaines et coteaux orientaux, le vignoble prospère entre les nombreux affluents de la Saône. Érigé par les moines et les abbés au Xème siècle, il est le fruit d'un riche héritage ancestral, où pratiques et savoir-faire spécifiques se transmettent de génération en génération.

Les vins du Beaujolais sont le produit d'un seul cépage appelé le Gamay et la plupart des crus sont installés sur une multitude de sols : granite du Carbonifère (360 - 300 Ma), diorite et schiste du Dévonien (430 - 360 Ma), alluvions fluvio-glaciaires et argilo-gréseux du Pléistocène (< 3 Ma), etc.

Les rivières et les milieux humides

  • Rivière du Beaujolais

Les milieux humides et aquatiques se retrouvent sur l'ensemble du territoire sous la forme de cours d'eau et points d'eau permanents, prairies humides, tourbières, etc. Méconnues voire mal aimées, les zones humides ont longtemps suscité légendes et histoires. Aujourd'hui, au regard des enjeux qu'elles représentent, elles sont peu à peu reconnues et préservées. En effet, elles participent à la gestion de la ressource en eau et sont utiles à de nombreuses espèces, tant pour leur reproduction, que pour leur alimentation.

Lors de l'inventaire réalisé en 2012, ce ne sont pas moins de 1300 zones humides qui y ont été identifiées sur l'ensemble du Beaujolais ! Selon une autre étude réalisée en 2014, une sur cinq subit des pressions importantes, d'où la nécessité d'agir pour leur sauvegarde.

Les mines et carrières

  • Carrières de Glay

L'extraction des richesses du sous-sol Beaujolais est très ancienne : les Romains déjà y exploitaient le plomb. Au fil des siècles, les mines et carrières se multiplient sur l'ensemble du territoire, à tel point que chaque village, voire même chaque hameau, possède encore aujourd'hui les marques d'un lieu autrefois dédié à l'extraction.

De nos jours, l'activité minière est totalement arrêtée dans le Beaujolais, tout comme la majorité des carrières. Leur intérêt n'est donc plus économique, mais environnemental. De nombreuses espèces faunistiques nichent (temporairement ou annuellement) dans les galeries. Le Hibou grand-duc, le Sonneur à ventre jaune ou encore la Chauve-souris pour ne citer que quelques espèces.

Geopark Beaujolais

Connu dans le monde entier pour ses vins et son vignoble, le Beaujolais est aussi un territoire façonné par l’homme qui a bénéficié de la diversité des sols. Son histoire se conjugue au présent dans sa pierre (dorée, rouge, blanche, grise ou noire) remarquablement mise en valeur dans l’architecture des villages. Cette géologie exceptionnelle se traduit dans la diversité des paysages et des patrimoines mais aussi au travers des activités de l’homme, de la culture et des traditions qui font l’identité du Pays Beaujolais.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais