Beaujolais UNESCO Global Geopark
Très Beaujolais

The castle "Château de Montmelas"

This ancient Beaujeu property was built in the 10th, 12th, 14th 17th and 19th centuries and is still lived in today, by the same family since 1566! Don’t miss the extraordinary view.


Jutting out from a rocky spur, this castle offers stunning views over the Saône valley, all the way to the Alps. It was built on a site that's been inhabited since the Neolithic. Once the property of the Lords of Beaujeu and the Bourbon, it's listed on the French Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments.

What makes the castle truly beautiful is its history and the landscape it stands in, with vineyards all around. You can visit all year round, sample the château's Marquis de Montmelas wine, and enjoy the splendour of the site.

The Chateau de Montmelas is not only beautiful but is, in fact, a real treasure of the region's geoheritage: it's walls was built from the oldest type of rock in the region, gneisses dating back Cambrian-Ordovician Period (500 - 450 Mya), formed in the bowels of the Earth.

The castle "Château de Montmelas"
chateau de Montmelas
69640 Montmelas-Saint-Sorlin

Geopark Beaujolais

Famous throughout the world for its wines and vineyards, the Beaujolais is also a region shaped by man, who has reaped the benefits of the soil's diversity. Its past is literally written in stone: in the golden, red, white, grey or black rocks and stones that have visibly been put to good use in local construction. This remarkable geology has given rise to great diversity, not only in the landscapes and heritage, but also in terms of human activity, in the culture and traditions that form the identity of the Beaujolais region.

Géoparc Mondial UNESCO du Beaujolais
Très Beaujolais

Château de Montmelas

Cette ancienne propriété de Beaujeu des Xe, XIIe, XIVe, XVIIe et XIXe siècles est habitée et toujours dans la même famille depuis 1566 ! Les propriétaires vous font visiter le château et déguster leur production. Ne manquez pas la vue extraordinaire.


Ce château installé sur un éperon rocheux, offre un point de vue exceptionnel depuis la vallée de la Saône jusqu’aux Alpes. Cette ancienne propriété des sires de Beaujeu et des sires de Bourbon est située sur un site habité depuis le néolithique. Il est inscrit à l’inventaire supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques.

La beauté de ce lieu tient de son histoire, de son paysage ainsi que de ses alentours dominés par la vigne. Des visites tout au long de l’année permettent de venir découvrir cette beauté, du château aux dégustations du vin Marquis de Montmelas.

Réel géo-patrimoine du territoire Beaujolais, l’un de ses plus grands intérêts réside dans son bâti. Les murs du château de Montmelas sont construits en roche gneissique de l'époque Cambro-Ordovicien (500 - 450 Ma), elle est la plus ancienne roche du territoire et provient des entrailles de la Terre.

Château de Montmelas
69640 Montmelas-Saint-Sorlin

Tél : 0474673294 - 0680594512
Fax : 0474673294
chateau.de.montmelas,wanadoo,fr
Site internet
Facebook
Geopark Beaujolais

Connu dans le monde entier pour ses vins et son vignoble, le Beaujolais est aussi un territoire façonné par l’homme qui a bénéficié de la diversité des sols. Son histoire se conjugue au présent dans sa pierre (dorée, rouge, blanche, grise ou noire) remarquablement mise en valeur dans l’architecture des villages. Cette géologie exceptionnelle se traduit dans la diversité des paysages et des patrimoines mais aussi au travers des activités de l’homme, de la culture et des traditions qui font l’identité du Pays Beaujolais.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais