Beaujolais UNESCO Global Geopark
Très Beaujolais

The Hidden Treasures trail

Villefranche reveals its architectural heritage and proposes an urban route around the city's important sites. Renaissance interior courtyards, facades of mansions constitute a Renaissance listed ensemble.


Capital of the Beaujolais, it was created in the 12th century by the lords of Beaujeu along the main road to Bourgogne (now the "Rue Nationale").

The commune has its own take on typical Renaissance architecture, and the rocks used for building are mostly from the quarries nearby. A large majority of the buildings are made of "Pierre Blanche" (white stone), while the alleys and stairways are composed of slabs of "Pierre a gryphées". Both of these are types of limestone from the same period, the Jurassic (203 – 135 Mya), that were formed when the Beaujolais was undergoing a marine age.

An urban trail through the town takes you past the key sites to admire its architectural heritage. There are 24 stops along the way, inviting you to discover the history and Renaissance-style architecture of lower courtyards and mansion façades dotted here and there around the Rue Nationale. This trail as a whole is a listed Renaissance heritage site.

The Hidden Treasures trail
96 rue de la sous-préfecture
69400 Villefranche-sur-Saône

Tél : 0033474072740
Fax : 0474072747
info,villefranche-beaujolais,fr
Website
Facebook
Geopark Beaujolais

Famous throughout the world for its wines and vineyards, the Beaujolais is also a region shaped by man, who has reaped the benefits of the soil's diversity. Its past is literally written in stone: in the golden, red, white, grey or black rocks and stones that have visibly been put to good use in local construction. This remarkable geology has given rise to great diversity, not only in the landscapes and heritage, but also in terms of human activity, in the culture and traditions that form the identity of the Beaujolais region.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais

Géoparc Mondial UNESCO du Beaujolais
Très Beaujolais

Circuit des Trésors Cachés

Villefranche lève le voile sur son patrimoine architectural et propose un parcours urbain autour des lieux importants de la ville. Les cours intérieures Renaissance, les façades d'hôtels particuliers constituent un ensemble Renaissance classé.


Capitale du Beaujolais, elle a été construite au 12ème siècle par les sires de Beaujeu, le long du grand chemin de Bourgogne (actuelle rue Nationale).

Architecture particulière type Renaissance, les principales roches qui constituent le bâti proviennent des carrières du territoire. La plupart des édifices sont bâtis en Pierre Blanche, les allées et les escaliers en dalle de Pierre à Gryphées. Ces deux calcaires datent de la même époque, le Jurassique (203 – 135 Ma), lors de la période marine du territoire Beaujolais.

Ce patrimoine architectural se dévoile lors d’un parcours urbain autour des lieux phares de la ville. 24 étapes vous invitent à la découverte de l’histoire et de l’architecture des cours inférieures Renaissance, et des façades d’hôtels particulières dissimulées de part et d’autre de la rue Nationale. Ce parcours du patrimoine constitue un ensemble Renaissance classé.

Circuit des Trésors Cachés
96 rue de la sous-préfecture
69400 Villefranche-sur-Saône

Geopark Beaujolais

Connu dans le monde entier pour ses vins et son vignoble, le Beaujolais est aussi un territoire façonné par l’homme qui a bénéficié de la diversité des sols. Son histoire se conjugue au présent dans sa pierre (dorée, rouge, blanche, grise ou noire) remarquablement mise en valeur dans l’architecture des villages. Cette géologie exceptionnelle se traduit dans la diversité des paysages et des patrimoines mais aussi au travers des activités de l’homme, de la culture et des traditions qui font l’identité du Pays Beaujolais.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais