Beaujolais UNESCO Global Geopark
Très Beaujolais

Cloister in Salles-Arbuissonnas

A magnificent 12th century cloister and 18th century chapter house. Cluniac site in the heart of the Beaujolais area, on top of a hill surrounded by vineyards. Both romantic and bright, the cloister remains a masterpiece of Romanesque architecture.


This monastic complex, built over the course of three centuries (10th, 11th and 12th), was, for three centuries, inhabited by Benedictine monks under the Cluny rule, and by the Benedictines of Grelonges (canonesses) for five centuries, under the Archdiocese of Lyon.

The priory, its museum and their surroundings make for an interesting visit, and shows how the sisters' social structure was set up in the 18th century, with a chapter, its courtyard and the houses the sisters lived in.

Cloister in Salles-Arbuissonnas
Le Chapitre
69460 Salles-Arbuissonnas-en-Beaujolais

Geopark Beaujolais

Famous throughout the world for its wines and vineyards, the Beaujolais is also a region shaped by man, who has reaped the benefits of the soil's diversity. Its past is literally written in stone: in the golden, red, white, grey or black rocks and stones that have visibly been put to good use in local construction. This remarkable geology has given rise to great diversity, not only in the landscapes and heritage, but also in terms of human activity, in the culture and traditions that form the identity of the Beaujolais region.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais

Géoparc Mondial UNESCO du Beaujolais
Très Beaujolais

Cloître de Salles-Arbuissonnas

Un cloître en pierres dorées du XIIe siècle, des moines bénédictins, des chanoinesses-comtesses… Un magnifique site et une histoire passionnante à découvrir ou à-redécouvrir.


Cet ensemble monastique construit sur trois siècles (10ème, 11ème et 12ème), fut occupé pendant trois siècles par des moines bénédictins sous influence du pouvoir de Cluny, et par les Bénédictines de Grelonges (chanoinesses) pendant cinq siècles sous bénédiction de l’archevêché de Lyon.

Le Prieuré, son musée et ses environs ont conservé l’empreinte de l’organisation sociale des chanoinesses au cours du 18ème siècle, avec le chapitre, sa cour d’honneur et les maisons des chanoinesses.

Cloître de Salles-Arbuissonnas
Le Chapitre
69460 Salles-Arbuissonnas-en-Beaujolais

Geopark Beaujolais

Connu dans le monde entier pour ses vins et son vignoble, le Beaujolais est aussi un territoire façonné par l’homme qui a bénéficié de la diversité des sols. Son histoire se conjugue au présent dans sa pierre (dorée, rouge, blanche, grise ou noire) remarquablement mise en valeur dans l’architecture des villages. Cette géologie exceptionnelle se traduit dans la diversité des paysages et des patrimoines mais aussi au travers des activités de l’homme, de la culture et des traditions qui font l’identité du Pays Beaujolais.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais