Beaujolais UNESCO Global Geopark
Très Beaujolais

Espace Pierres Folles, Geology and fossil museum

A museum to the "Golden Stoned" Beaujolais area: geology, fossil collection with a giant ichthyosaurus, soils and natural resources and temporary exhibitions. The approved geological trail and botanical garden can be viewed free of charge.


The Espace Pierres Folles site takes you through the entire geological history of Beaujolais, from formation, 500 Mya, to prehistoric men.
Founded in 1988 by Haroun TAZIEFF, this is one of the region's key geological sites.

Its museum displays the extraordinary abundance of fossils in the Beaujolais (a collection of more than 1000 species), including the mould of a giant ichthyosaur found in the nearby Lafarge quarry. Situated in the "Pierres Dorées" (golden stones) region, he takes you right into the heart of a unique land whose geology fashions the soils, the plants, the vineyards and the wine, the activity of Man and the abundant natural resources.

Outside the museum, a geological path takes you on a life-sized journey through the region's geological past. The path, lined with informational signs, takes you past rocky outcrops and landscape features. Over a distance of less than 1km, it spans more than 165 million years of the region's geology, from the beginning of the Jurassic Period 200 Mya to the Tertiary Period 35 Mya.

Download

Espace Pierres Folles, Geology and fossil museum
116 chemin du Pinay
69380 Saint-Jean-des-Vignes

Tél : 0033478436920
Fax : 0478436920
contact,espace-pierres-folles,com
Website
Facebook
Geopark Beaujolais

Famous throughout the world for its wines and vineyards, the Beaujolais is also a region shaped by man, who has reaped the benefits of the soil's diversity. Its past is literally written in stone: in the golden, red, white, grey or black rocks and stones that have visibly been put to good use in local construction. This remarkable geology has given rise to great diversity, not only in the landscapes and heritage, but also in terms of human activity, in the culture and traditions that form the identity of the Beaujolais region.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais

Géoparc Mondial UNESCO du Beaujolais
Très Beaujolais

Espace Pierres Folles

Musée de la terre et du terroir et des géopatrimoines en Beaujolais : géologie et paléontologie, collection de fossiles, sols et ressources naturelles, pôle de préhistoire. Sentier géologique, jardin botanique labellisé en accès libre.


L’Espace Pierres Folles est un lieu retraçant toute l’histoire géologique du Beaujolais, de sa formation il y a 500 Ma aux hommes préhistoriques.
Inauguré en 1988 par Haroun TAZIEFF, il est l’un des sites géologiques phares du territoire.

Son musée dévoile l’extraordinaire abondance des fossiles Beaujolais (une collection de plus de 1000 espèces), dont le moulage d’un ichtyosaure géant retrouvé dans la carrière Lafarge voisine. Situé au Pays des pierres dorées, il vous entraîne aussi au cœur d’un terroir de caractère où la géologie conditionne les sols, les végétaux, la vigne et le vin, l’activité de l’Homme et les abondantes ressources naturelles.

A l’extérieur du musée, un sentier géologique offre une rétrospective grandeur nature de l’histoire géologique de la région. Sur une distance inférieure à 1 Km, il permet de remonter par ses affleurements et ses lectures paysagères accompagnés de panneaux explicatifs, plus de 165 Ma géologique du secteur, du début de l’ère Jurassique il y a 200 Ma au milieu de l’ère Tertiaire il y a 35 Ma.

Téléchargement

Espace Pierres Folles
116 chemin du Pinay
69380 Saint-Jean-des-Vignes

Geopark Beaujolais

Connu dans le monde entier pour ses vins et son vignoble, le Beaujolais est aussi un territoire façonné par l’homme qui a bénéficié de la diversité des sols. Son histoire se conjugue au présent dans sa pierre (dorée, rouge, blanche, grise ou noire) remarquablement mise en valeur dans l’architecture des villages. Cette géologie exceptionnelle se traduit dans la diversité des paysages et des patrimoines mais aussi au travers des activités de l’homme, de la culture et des traditions qui font l’identité du Pays Beaujolais.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais