Beaujolais UNESCO Global Geopark
Très Beaujolais

La Roche d'Ajoux, former Celtic site

La Roche d'Ajoux is a former Celtic site which is said to have had its own temple dedicated to Jupiter and the name Ajoux does in indeed have its origins in "ara jovis" meaning Jupiter's altar.


She's the 3rd highest peak in the Beaujolais, and differs from the other peaks in that there are no trees on its summit (volcanic rocks from the Carboniferous Period (350-325 Mya)). This makes it the best place to enjoy panoramic views with the Alps in the background.

It forms part of the Saint-Rigaud Massif and there are many paths (some of them going by the Roche) for hiking and mountain-biking in pristine nature. The GR7 ('Grande Randonnée' hiking trail that roughly follows the watershed between the slopes to the Mediterranean and those to the Atlantic) goes by the foot of the Roche.

La Roche d'Ajoux, former Celtic site
69870 Poule-les-Écharmeaux

Tél : 0033474036448 - 0474031326
accueil.lamure,beaujolaisvert,com
Website
Geopark Beaujolais

Famous throughout the world for its wines and vineyards, the Beaujolais is also a region shaped by man, who has reaped the benefits of the soil's diversity. Its past is literally written in stone: in the golden, red, white, grey or black rocks and stones that have visibly been put to good use in local construction. This remarkable geology has given rise to great diversity, not only in the landscapes and heritage, but also in terms of human activity, in the culture and traditions that form the identity of the Beaujolais region.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais

Géoparc Mondial UNESCO du Beaujolais
Très Beaujolais

La Roche d'Ajoux

La roche d'Ajoux est un ancien lieu celtique où aurait existé un temple de Jupiter, son nom vient en effet d'ara jovis, l'autel de Jupiter.
Anne Fimbel, guide de pays propose des balades guidées.


Troisième plus haut sommet du Beaujolais, elle se démarque des autres monts par l’absence de forêt sur sa partie sommitale (affleurement de roches volcaniques du Carbonifère (350 - 325 Ma)). Cette particularité lui vaut d’avoir le plus beau panorama du territoire, avec comme toile de fond les Alpes.

Partie intégrante du massif du Saint-Rigaud, de nombreux chemins (qui passent pour certains à la roche) permettent la pratique de la randonnée pédestre et du VTT, au sein d’une nature préservée. Le GR7 (sentier de Grande Randonnée qui suit approximativement la ligne de partage des eaux entre les versants mer méditerranée et mer du Nord-Manche-Atlantique) passe au pied de la roche.

La Roche d'Ajoux
69870 Poule-les-Écharmeaux

Tél : 0474036448 - 0474031326
accueil.lamure,beaujolaisvert,com
Site internet
Geopark Beaujolais

Connu dans le monde entier pour ses vins et son vignoble, le Beaujolais est aussi un territoire façonné par l’homme qui a bénéficié de la diversité des sols. Son histoire se conjugue au présent dans sa pierre (dorée, rouge, blanche, grise ou noire) remarquablement mise en valeur dans l’architecture des villages. Cette géologie exceptionnelle se traduit dans la diversité des paysages et des patrimoines mais aussi au travers des activités de l’homme, de la culture et des traditions qui font l’identité du Pays Beaujolais.

© 2016 - Syndicat mixte du Beaujolais